Who we are

ScienceUpFirst is a national initiative that works with a collective of independent scientists, researchers, health care experts and science communicators.

The idea for ScienceUpFirst started with Senator Stan Kutcher and Professor Timothy Caulfield in the summer of 2020. Since then, we’ve grown into a funded initiative of the Canadian Association of Science Centres.

Work with us! 

We are now hiring for an Audience Engagement Specialist.

Founding Organizations

These organizations established ScienceUpFirst. The initiative is operated by the Canadian Association of Science Centres and continues to work closely with COVID-19 Resources Canada and the Health Law Institute at the University of Alberta.


These organizations provide funding for our work. Our funders do not influence the topics we cover or the words we use.

Executive Advisory Committee

We meet with these individuals regularly, and they help guide our strategy.

Carrie Bourassa
Professor in the Department of Community Health & Epidemiology at the University of Saskatchewan in Saskatoon and the Scientific Director of the CIHR Institute of Indigenous Peoples’ Health

Marie-Eve Carignan
Associate Professor at the Department of Communication of the University of Sherbrooke and Head of Media Division, UNESCO Chair in Prevention of Radicalization and Violent Extremism (UNESCO-PREV Chair)

Timothy Caulfield
Canada Research Chair in Health Law and Policy, Univ. Alberta

Imogen Coe
Professor, Chemistry & Biology, Faculty of Science; Dimensions Chair Member, Institute for Biomedical Engineering, Science and Technology (iBEST) at Ryerson University & St. Michael’s Hospital; President, Canadian Society for Molecular Biosciences 2020-2022

Amber Mac (MacArthur)
President, AmberMac Media Inc.

Marianne Mader 
Executive Director, Canadian Association of Science Centers

Anthony Morgan
Founder, Science Everywhere; Science Communicator

Tara Moriarty
Associate Professor, University of Toronto (Infectious Disease research); Co-lead: COVID-19 Resources Canada; Executive team member: CanCOVID; Diagnostics Pillar lead, Canadian Lyme Disease Research Network

David M. Patrick
Director of Research and Medical Epidemiology Lead for AMR, British Columbia Centre for Disease Control; Professor, UBC School of Population and Public Health

Joe Schwarcz
Director, McGill Office for Science and Society

Marva Sweeney-Nixon
Professor and Chair, Department of Biology; Faculty of Science, University of Prince Edward Island

Samantha Yammine
Director, Science Sam Media

Coalition of Experts

These experts suggest topics for new posts and keep us up to date with the latest science.

Lisa Barrett
Assistant professor, Division of Infectious Diseases, Department of Medicine, Department of Microbiology & Immunology, Department of Pathology, Dalhousie University

Chantal Barriault
Director, Science Communication Graduate Program, School of the Environment, Laurentian University

Tyler Black
Clinical Assistant Professor, UBC

Isaac Bogoch
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, University of Toronto; Infectious disease specialist; Clinician Investigator, Toronto General Hospital Research Institute

Colette Brin
Professor at Université Laval‘s Département d’information et de communication and the Director of the Centre d’études sur les médias

Tania Bubela
Professor and Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences, Simon Fraser University

Tracy Calogheros
CEO, Exploration Place Museum & Science Centre, BC

Christine Chambers
Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) in Children’s Pain and Killam Professor of Pediatrics and Psychology & Neuroscience; Scientific Director, CIHR’s Institute of Human Development, Child and Youth Health

Naheed Dosani
Palliative Care Physician & Health Justice Activist

Kathryn Hill
Executive Director, MediaSmarts

Jonathan Jarry
Science Communicator, McGill Office for Science and Society

Alex Munter

Ubaka Ogbogu
Assistant Professor, Faculties of Law and Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Law Centre, University of Alberta

Jonathan N. Stea
Clinical Psychologist, Adjunct Assistant Professor University of Calgary

Heidi Tworek
Associate Prof, Public Policy & History, UBC


These people work for ScienceUpFirst.

Magda Byma

Clare Charnley
Project Manager

Dr. Krishana Sankar
Science Advisor & Community Partnerships Lead

Jon Farrow
Manager of Communications & Social Media

Rachel Salt
Science Communicator

Sophia Belyk
Content Producer (English)

Elyas Aissia
Content Producer (French)

Eoghan Moriarty
Data Analyst

Amanda Fruci
Public Relations Strategist

Bensun Fong
Web Coordinator


These experts check over our posts to make sure they are scientifically accurate.

Dr. Michael Sugiyama, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Toronto

Dr. Maria Cecilia Gimenez, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Toronto

Dr. Baijayanta Mukhopadhyay, MD
Family Practice Physician, Cree Board of Health and Social Services of James Bay

Dr. Oluwaseun Adelekan, M.B.B.S, MScPH
Medical Editor, Klick Medical

Dr. Don Davies, PhD
Postdoctoral Researcher, St-Boniface Hospital Research

Dr. Matthew Ratsep, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow, McMaster University

Dr. Sajjad Fazel, PharmD, MPH
Postdoctoral Associate, University of Calgary

Dr. Amna Ejaz, MD
Epidemic Prevention and Control Specialist, Canadian Red Cross